The MatthewEffect Series

#Saturday Morning Feature.

Matthew 25:29  “For whosoever hath, to him shall be given, and he shall have more abundance: but whosoever hath not, from him shall be taken away even that he hath.”

When I was younger, I read the bible voraciously. I read it like my life depended on it. By the time I was 16, I had gone through it about thrice. Some of the stories intrigued me. Some left me in awe. Some terrified me. And some were just beyond me.

A lot of the stories had lessons I could readily learn from.

And then I came across a story of a man who


going on a journey, called three of his servants and gave them some money- each according to their ability.

Now, when the master came back, he asked for a progress report. The first two spoke about how they had traded and, through industry, doubled their talents. He rewarded them.

But there was a third servant. He took the “talent” he was given and buried it in the ground. He did absolutely nothing with it and made no gain. When the master returned, he gave the talents back, just as he had received it.

The master was in wrath. He gave his judgement. The man was to be stripped of his one talent and thrown out with immediate effect.

“Those who have, more will be given. And they will have abundance. Those who don’t have, even what they have will be taken away.”

I did a mental double take. How could Jesus say this? Just how could he be so mean? Why would you take away what little belongs to a person who has nothing? And add to someone who has already? Why would Jesus endorse the actions of a wicked man? Why would he even share a parable like this?

There were so many questions, and no answers.

I have realised now, that the answers had ALWAYS been there. I just didn’t know it then.

This week, I want to talk about #TheMatthewEffect. I really am excited about this. This is going to be a terrific journey. I trust you are strapped in for the ride!

To be continued…

Akpoveta Valentine
Kinetoleadership Coach
@iam_avt

5 thoughts on “The MatthewEffect Series

Leave a Reply

