A Piece Of Drama: the Career Woman

ACT ONE, SCENE ONE.
FADE IN.
INT:
Man stands arms akimbo as he paces up and down the room in deep thought. He picks up the phone to make a call.
                                                                                                             MAN
Hello Anna, can I come over, we need to talk.
                                                                            VOICE
What do we need to talk about that we already haven’t discussed? I have told you marriage is not on my agenda, I really need to face my career for now, I cannot do both.

                                                                            MAN
But…but I love you and if you truly love me like you claim, you can shuffle.
                                                                           VOICE
No Victor, I can’t. I am sorry. I have to go now, bye.

Line goes dead.

(Exit)

SCENE TWO.
Two women sitting on the sofa chatting.
                                                                              ANNA
Why did you leave town Martha?
                                                                            MARTHA
I had to. I needed to focus on so many things especially learning to balance marriage and all.
                                                                              ANNA
See why I never want to get married, now that I am getting to the peak of my career, I cannot have a man coming in to disturb that.
                                                                            MARTHA
You are not getting any younger you know? You need a man for balance. With marriage, I am still able to thrive in other things.
                                                                              ANNA
(sits up, folds her legs) other things like what? You were the most brilliant girl in school with big dreams and you let marriage take over everything!
                                                                           MARTHA
That’s what you think. I own some businesses. Heard of The Marble Restaurant down town?
                                                                            ANNA
Yeah! I love going there with Vic whenever we want to take a break from town, such a lovely refined place.
                                                                           MARTHA
Well…? It is really a cool restaurant (winks, stands up to pick baby Susan who just wet herself) lots of work done there to make a best place for all…
                                                                            ANNA
(stands up, baffled) you don’t mean it… i…i… you are saying, it’s yours? You own the restaurant? How? When? this is wonderful! I mean…
                                                                         MARTHA
Yeah, I own it. I have been up and about with it for over three years, I like to remain off the scene while I let my managers take the spotlight.
                                                                           ANNA
Wow! This is amazing, so you mean I could…I could be married and still make it in my career and all.
                                                                         MARTHA
Absolutely! That is what makes you whole as a woman. So Anna… you better accept his proposal and get a hold of your life. It is worth it.
                                                                            ANNA
(In awe, sits down and stares afar off ) yea.
(Exit)

SCENE THREE.
EXT.
Anna stands up from the restaurant chair, gulp her drink and heads to the door. She stops halfway to the road, brings out her phone to place a call.
                                                                             ANNA
Hello Vic, em…. About what we discussed the other day…
                                                                            VOICE
(sternly) yes? What about it?
                                                                            ANNA
I think I am ready Vic, I am so sorry that…
                                                                            VOICE
You think you are ready? What happens to your career? Look Anna, I am sorry, I can’t do this.

(line went dead, Anna stares at the phone in surprise as she weeps).

(Curtain Falls)

The End.

15 thoughts on “A Piece Of Drama: the Career Woman

      1. *laughing out loud* not at all, Victor is a very serious dude. He snapped because he thought you weren’t ready, and all of a sudden you became ready, I mean, who does that?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The plots too simple #unimpressed……a woman who can keep it all in balance is always a success story for me.look forward to your next work

    Like

    1. Thanks Sommy. That’s why it is tagged ‘A piece of drama’ simple plot. You could read another on the A piece of Drama category. Thanks for taking the time.

      Pls keep it coming.

      Like

Leave a Reply

